The major port of INDIA General Knowledge

Nine states like Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Orissa, and West Bengal have a coastal area in India. These have been home to all major and minor ports of India. India has a 13 major port. 12 major ports operated by government and one, Ennore port of Chennai is the corporate one. Ennore Port of Chennai is one of the major ports of India located at Coromandel Coast of Tamil Nadu state.

the-major-port-of-india: nahva sheva port

List of a major port in India

  • Kandla Port- Gujarat:
  • Nhava Sheva- Maharashtra:
  • Marmagao port- Goa:
  • Panambur Port- Karnataka:
  • Cochin Port- Kerala:
  • Port Blair- Andaman:
  • Tuticorin Port- Tamil Nadu:
  • Chennai Port:
  • Vizag Port- Andhra Pradesh:
  • Paradip Port- Orissa:
  • Haldia port- West Bengal:

Kandla port

Kandla, located on the Gulf of Kutch, is one of the major ports on the west coast. The Karachi port was part of India before partition, but After the partition of India and Pakistan, the port of Karachi becomes a part of Pakistan. India needs a major port in the western coastal area. Kandla was constructed in the 1950s as the chief seaport serving western India.

The Port of Kandla SEZ is the biggest multiple-product SEZ in the country. Kandla is the first Export Processing Zone in India.
Kandla port handled 106 million tonnes of cargo in 2015-16

An important river of India- State-wise

Nhava Sheva- Maharashtra:

Nhava Sheva port is the largest container port in India Located east of Mumbai Its common name derives from the names of Nhava and Sheva villages that were situated there. This port is also the terminal of Western Dedicated Freight Corridor. The port was established on 26 May 1989. This port is Operated by Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust.
Nhava Sheva Port is the biggest container handling port in India. This port handling around 55% of the country’s containerized cargo. Nhava Sheva port is ranked 28th among the top 100 Container Ports in the world.

Mormugao port:

Mormugao is a seaport is located at South Goa (India). From 1963 it was considered as a major port. The Mormugao port has contributed immensely to growth of maritime trade in India. This port is mainly used for iron ore exports.

Panambur Port- Karnataka:

Panambur Port Opened on 4 May 1974. It is Operated by New Mangalore Port Trust. Panambur Port Owned by the Ministry of Shipping(Government of India). Total Value of cargo at Panambur Port is 36.5 million tonnes.

Cochin Port

Cochin Port or Kochi Port is a major port of India. It is one of the largest ports in India operated by Cochin Port Trust and Dubai Ports World. Cochin Port has the largest container transshipment facility in India. It was opened on 26 May 1928(91 years ago) and Owned by the Ministry of Shipping, Government of India. Annual cargo tonnage is 22.10 million tonnes and Annual container volume is 419,550.

Port Blair port

Port Blair Port is located at the South Andaman District of Andaman and Nicobar in India. It is one of the major ports in India. The port operated by Port Blair Port Trust. All major provisions of the Major Port Trusts Act, 1963, have become applicable to the major port of Port Blair from June 1, 2010. The Port Blair becomes the 13th major port in India and only major port in Andaman and Nicobar. The harbor of this port is natural. The Anchorage depth of the port is 12.5 m-13.7 m and the Oil terminal depth of the port is 7.1 m – 9.1 m. 500-meter long ship can Anchorage in the port

Tuticorin Port- Tamil Nadu:
Chennai Port:
Vizag Port- Andhra Pradesh:
Paradip Port- Orissa:
Haldia port- West Bengal:

See More